Retailers’ Retail of the Year Awards 2020

The finalists of the Retailers’ Retail of the Year (RROTY) Awards 2020 have now been revealed. The awards celebrate the very best concepts and individuals in the UK eating and drinking out sector, the annual Retailers’ Retailer Awards bring the senior tier of the industry into one room to reward and recognise true excellence in the market. We are sponsoring the event and will be presenting the Best Venue award on the night. Good luck to all the shortlisted finalists and we look forward to seeing you there!

Below is a list of the RROTY finalists:

Emerging Concept – This award celebrates a fledgling multiple-site format and identifies a developing operator which the senior industry has tipped to enjoy sustainable success over the coming years.

  • Blacklock
  • Bleecker Burger
  • Daisy Green Collection
  • Farmer J
  • Homeslice Pizza
  • Puttshack

Best Concept – This award recognises a superb, sector leading concept that combines an excellent consumer proposition with dynamic execution across several different locations.

  • The Alchemist
  • Caravan
  • Dishoom
  • ETM Group
  • Mowgli
  • Rockfish

Best Venue – This award goes to a single venue which has outstanding design, offer and service, and compelling and consistent customer appeal.

  • Arcade Food Theatre, Centre Point
  • Flight Club, Birmingham
  • Hawksmoor, Edinburgh
  • The Ivy Asia, St Pauls
  • Market Halls, West End
  • The Ned, London

The Best Use of Technology – This award goes to an operator which has led the way with innovative technology, to enhance its business and boost engagement with customers. ETM Group

  • Flight Club
  • JD Wetherspoon
  • McDonald’s
  • Nando’s
  • Wagamama

The Evolution Award – This award goes to a business that continues to evolve, from repositioning its offer or concept, developing new routes to market, introducing new technology or expanding into new markets through acquisition.

  • Bill’s
  • Coco Di Mama
  • The Ivy Collection
  • KFC
  • Loungers
  • The Restaurant Group

Best Company – This category is awarded to an outstanding multiple-site company which combines a brilliant offer and execution with growing sales and people development.

  • Dishoom
  • Hawksmoor
  • Loungers
  • Nando’s
  • Oakman Inns & Restaurants
  • Stonegate Pub Company

Deal of the Year – This category recognises the best deal to have taken place over the last 12 months, encompassing a good exit for the vendor and the opportunity for the new ownership to grow and lead the business into a sustainable future.

  • Pret A Manger acquires EAT
  • Asahi acquires Fullers drinks business
  • CK Asset Holdings acquires Greene King
  • The Loungers IPO
  • Stonegate Pub Company bids for Ei Group
  • Azzurri Group acquires Pod

Investor of the Year – This award is for an individual or company that has successfully invested in the eating and drinking-out market over the last 12 months, whether through an acquisition or acquisitions, or in the continued development of its portfolio.

  • Edition Capital
  • Imbiba
  • Lion Capital
  • The Restaurant Group
  • TDR Capital
  • TriSpan

Best Individual: Retailers’ Retailer of the Year 2020 – This award goes to the outstanding leader of the year.

  • Richard Caring – Caprice Holdings
  • Nick Collins – Loungers
  • Simon Emeny – Fuller, Smith & Turner
  • Karen Jones – Prezzo
  • Simon Longbottom – Stonegate Pub Company
  • Roger Whiteside – Greggs